Went to Cambridge on Wednesday to pick up a retro wire-framed chair that I bought off TradeMe to match the one I rescued from the Hospice Waikato trash and treasure shop recently.  I’ll reupholster it next week.

Ended up in the center of town.  Reminded me very much of a small rural Australian town – but greener and less dusty.  Wide streets, wide blue sky, historic shop fronts.  Cambridge is stud-horse country and the town certainly had a clean, manicured feel that comes with a sound economy and tourism.  The cafes were chattering, the roundabout flower beds blooming, and the streets lined with High Street names and upmarket cars.

The antique shop was fantastic.  Look only of course, but such an overflowing abundance of beautiful things.  Could spend hours there.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There are 5!! op shops in Cambridge.  A worthy ratio indeed for the wee place.  And the queen of them all is the Union Church Parish Shop.  1990 prices and volunteers who are excellent at on-selling.  I left with my remanent of material plus (for an extra .40c) a colour-matched ribbon and a real silver drop earring for accessories.  It was a fun experience.  Will go back there again!

The Red Cross shop was clothes-only and the other’s too expensive.  The Salvation Army was the best bet and I found two blankets that will make great hooded capes.